Skip to content

Tea and Smoothies

September 29, 2010

I have seen 冰沙 (bīng shā) alternatively translated as smoothie, slushie and sorbet. Essentially, it’s a drink of blended ice and something else, usually fruit, but also coffee, green bean, red bean or another flavor. They can be made with fresh ingredients or syrup. One of the most common is mango (芒果 -máng guǒ). My favorite is pineapple (鳳梨 – fèng lí).

I had been spending a long time struggling to find a couple of characters to find out what kind of smoothie was in the menu at a franchise tea shop called Cha Time. Finally, I got the bright idea to look for their menu online. I would’ve saved a lot of time if I had done that in the first place.

The Australian Cha Time website has English translations of a good chunk of their menu. My main interest was in translating various kinds of smoothies , but I thought that people might be interested in other items on the menu.

I also found this small menu, which has some useful translations of different fruit smoothies (translated in this case as sorbets).

pineapple smoothie - 鳳梨冰沙

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 6:28 pm

    Hi, I just found your site through Forumosa and wanted to say how awesome this is!! I love it! I was going to make my mom write down all the Taiwanese food I love to eat but now, I don’t really need to!
    Thanks so much!

    • October 20, 2010 2:40 am

      Thanks! I’ve been lazy about updating it recently, but hope it’s useful to you anyway.

Leave a Reply

